Desktop Migration (Part 2)

I have been working some more on migrating what I was doing on Windows to Solaris 10. To my wife’s delight, I got SlimServer 6.3.1 going. Astute readers will note that this is not the most recent version. I ran into various troubles with their “build-perl-modules.pl” script which attempts to download and install the required CPAN Perl modules. Apparently, version 6.5 starts to use MySQL and that was a source of pain. For the time being, I have version 6.3.1 going after ditching their script and downloading/building the required Perl modules manually. The fact that my wife now has J-pop again hitting the stereo via the Squeezebox is a good thing. Now to get it setup with SMF which should be no trouble.

Leave a Reply

